The Giving Child: A Graduation Speech

Growing up, I was perceived by my family and neighbors as the “smart kid,” “studious,” and “magaling na bata”. I carried the weight of their expectations, believing that the brightest ones were the driving force behind making our country a better place, and that intelligence was highly valued and respected.

It was only after receiving my college diploma that I realized academic intelligence alone is not the primary catalyst for change. It is not the key ingredient in solving poverty, reducing inequalities, or achieving peace and justice. Above all, I have come to believe that kindness and compassion should be the foundation of one’s life.

Psychology defines kindness as the quality of being friendly, generous, and considerate. Kindness is associated with affection, gentleness, warmth, concern, and care. While kindness may sometimes be mistaken as naivety or weakness, that is not the case. It often requires courage and strength. Kindness is an interpersonal skill, much like compassion, which is the ability to understand the emotional state of others and oneself.

I imagine my 10-year-old self listening to my mother’s advice, encouraging me to help my struggling classmate understand our new lesson instead of pressuring me to stay ahead of my peers. I envision my mother reminding me to give others a chance in group work rather than pushing me to take the leadership role. Hindi ba mas magandang marinig ‘yong, “kahit hindi ikaw ang highest sa exam, basta hindi ka nandaya at naging mabuti ka sa iba, proud sa’yo si nanay.” Ang sarap pakinggan sa tainga. Mas nakaka-inspire, mas nakaka-tao.

I have been working in the development sector for years, and during this time, I have come across numerous stories about how volunteers and community workers have positively influenced the lives of others. The inspiration and hope that people derive from the doctors to the barrios, teachers in the mountains, lawyers for the poor, our artists, and youth advocates are precisely what the world needs today.

We are in need of more young people who aspire to dream not only for themselves but also for the betterment of our country. I hope that our schools and homes still nurture children with strong Filipino core values, instilling in them the qualities of being Maka-Diyos, Makatao, Makakalikasan, at Makabansa.

On this special day, I encourage parents to be proud of their children who will be receiving awards for being the most kind, most helpful, most generous, most polite. Often, we tend to underestimate the significance of character-based awards. We think they are easily attainable and require no effort. Please, let us not underestimate the power of good character. Yes, it is wonderful to hear about academic achievements like graduating with honors or excelling in English or Math. We can be proud of children who are gifted in those areas. However, isn’t the world in greater need of a giving child?

A “gifted child” is a treasure to this world, but a “giving child” is its hope.
I wish that, as we can be proud of the gifted child who excels in academics, we also take pride in the ‘giving child’ who fulfills the greater needs of this world.

Growing up, I was perceived by my relatives and neighbors as the smart kid, studious, at magaling na bata. Now, at this stage of my life, having witnessed the cruelty that society can inflict upon people, I find myself wishing that I had embodied more of the qualities of being mabuti, mapagbigay, at matulunging bata. ‘

More than striving for greatness, my sincere hope is that we always, always try to be kind and compassionate.

This speech was delivered during the 24th Commencement Exercises of my alma mater – Berean Baptist Academy, March 29, 2019 at 7J Pavilion, Tenejero, Candaba, Pampanga.

Leave a comment